Killed by Desk

17 Jon Fine - Magazine Editor / Journalist - Bitch Magnet / Vineland / Coptic Light

Episode Summary

Jon formed Bitch Magnet while in college at Oberlin, and continued to play nearly constantly through his twenties and thirties. But when a moment of “what the fuck am I doing” hit him when he was nearly 40 years old, he committed himself to finding gainful employment - turning his occasional freelance writing into a full-time job in the publishing world. As he rose up the ranks in the industry, he found work at AdAge, Businessweek and as the acting Editor in Chief of Inc. magazine. In our conversation we talk about growing up in the punk/hardcore scene, finding a “real” job, writing a memoir, winning a James Beard award and continuing to play and tour on a more part-time basis as your career takes off, Jon is candid, smart and hilarious about it all. Jon has the ability to clearly communicate the experience all of our guests share and why they’re at where they’re at now. If you only listen to one Killed By Desk episode, make it this one! Poster Children https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Poster_Children David Granger https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/David_M._Granger Bitch Magnet https://www.wnyc.org/story/bitch-magnet-best-90s-band-you-never-heard-of/ Four Seasons Lunch https://ny.eater.com/2017/5/5/15559494/the-grill-menu-prices-expensive-or-not Inc 5000 https://www.inc.com/inc5000 Le Dîner de Cons (film) https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Le_D%C3%AEner_de_Cons_(film) Jeff Bercovici https://www.latimes.com/people/jeff-bercovici Jeff Goldblum in Jurassic Park https://youtu.be/n-mpifTiPV4?t=29 Hit Rate https://slate.com/news-and-politics/2009/02/how-much-does-it-cost-to-put-a-hit-on-someone.html https://www.quora.com/How-much-if-anything-are-people-paid-to-appear-on-TV-news-shows-as-pundits-or-commentators East Bay Ray https://www.premierguitar.com/articles/24292-forgotten-heroes-east-bay-ray https://www.researchpubs.com/interviews/ex-dead-kennedys-vs-jello-biafra/ Jello https://thehardtimes.net/music/lucky-airline-passenger-wins-free-five-hour-spoken-word-concert-by-jello-biafra/ https://www.state.nj.us/dep/parksandforests/education/docs/hf-Jello%20and%20Peter%20Cooper.pdf Fess https://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=fess&page=2 Ted Leo https://pitchfork.com/news/33867-ted-leo-cancels-upcoming-dates/ Great Adventure https://blooloop.com/news/six-flags-great-adventure-safari-drive-through/ Oral History of Action Park https://www.mentalfloss.com/article/536412/action-park-water-park-oral-history https://www.amazon.com/Action-Park-Americas-Dangerous-Amusement/dp/B08158PLYZ/ref=sr_1_1?dchild=1&qid=1611027197&refinements=p_27%3AJake+Rossen&s=books&sr=1-1 The Dirt https://www.amazon.com/Dirt-Confessions-Worlds-Most-Notorious/dp/0060989157 Natural Wine - Punk Rock https://www.foodandwine.com/news/natural-wine-weird-or-wonderful https://www.wine-searcher.com/find/ochota+barrel+the+fugazi+grenache+south+australia Godhead Silo - Band who were a two piece so they could purchase BMX bikes on tour https://www.phoenixnewtimes.com/music/threat-assessment-godheadsilo-6423803 Will Oldham https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Will_Oldham Lyon Wong Murder http://www.midtownmonthly.net/music/tales-of-terror/#:~:text=Lyon%20Wong%20was%20walking%20late,he%20arrived%20at%20Sutter%20General. See Hear https://ephemeralnewyork.wordpress.com/tag/see-hear-east-village/ Paul Lukas - Beer Frame https://www.amazon.com/Inconspicuous-Consumption-Obsessive-Granted-Everyday/dp/0517886685/ref=sr_1_10?dchild=1&qid=1611027921&refinements=p_27%3APaul+Lukas&s=books&sr=1-10&text=Paul+Lukas Our Band Could Be Your Life https://www.amazon.com/Our-Band-Could-Your-Life/dp/0316787531 Daily New Strike 1990 https://www.upi.com/Archives/1990/10/26/Second-day-of-bitter-Daily-News-strike-erupts-in-violence/1536656913600/